Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid!

There are so many things that go on in social media by people that really get it. Unfortunately, there is a lot more I see from those that don’t. Understanding the conversational and relationship aspect of social media marketing is often a difficult thing for people to grasp. Believe it or not, I find that digital marketing professionals and traditional ad agency types have the most difficult time with the transition. That goes for network or MLM marketers as well.

Some of the people that seem to excel within social media are the non-marketing experienced individuals that by nature are highly social. You know the types, no matter where they go they end up in conversation with complete strangers. Starbucks and a coffee results in 2 new friendships and exchanging of telephone numbers for future connection. They seem to understand and read people well, culminating in a constant expanding network of associates and friends. I love these people!

Here is what I have found in my experience in social media… People are truly social animals. We all like attention, we appreciate assistance and we gravitate to those that provide that. Of my 15,000 followers, I know hundreds by name without opening their profiles. I pay attention to when they have been gone on vacation and remember to follow up. It’s just like the real world. These factors and contacts create and develop connections and relationships that grow and thrive.

Through these relationships, naturally people draw together around business. Being genuine, showing interest in your Twitter followers, Facebook friends and fans, establishes interest. Interest in you as a person and your service or product.

It never ceases to amaze me that when I have discussions with people within the social graph about THEM and what they do, inevitably they quickly become interested in what we do and sign up for BundlePost. Engaging and building relationships in social media results in revenue and ROI. So quit being stupid and constantly self promoting. Forge relationships by getting to know and helping others and see your results change dramatically!

Robert M. Caruso
Founder/CEO – Bundle Post

22 Comments

Filed under Facebook, Social content management, Social Media, Social Media Content, Social Media Management, Social Media Marketing, Social Media ROI, Uncategorized

22 responses to “Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid!

  1. I’m Sorry….but do I know you???

    LOL :-P

    Awesome post my friend!!

    When I meet my online connections for the first time face to face….it is like getting together with an old friend that I have not seen in a long time.

    • Who are you? ;-)

      I hear you Julia. I speak on phone or in person with #SM connected people all the time. Grateful for this medium to meet such amazing tweeps! I consider you one of them!

      Robert

      • Thank you Robert. I am honored!! I look forward to the day we meet face to face. Been so many laughs so far…. more to come….with tons of work to be done.

        Julia

  2. Brian Vickery

    I think this is why I have enjoyed ramping up my presence on social media. I get to be “real” which works great because I’m not marketing or wired for self-promotion. I get to have fun coming up with new sports analogies to compare with social media.

    Good post, Robert.

  3. Love it! Clearly you get it Brian. Hiiiiiiii yaaaa! :-)

  4. Yes and one can spend a short time with their social media and learn who they are. The looky loos and marketers are not using “social” media. Its used more as a BB { billboard }. I’m not impressed with any cms or their so called ops that have no clue even if they have followers. IE those that connect their facebook w/ twitter and then never check their tweets again. Arrrgh.
    Whew, thanks, I feel better now that I’ve vented a bit. Thanks for the room :-D

  5. Love it when you rant Mona! Bring it girl… :-)

  6. A thought provoking post indeed…I do believe there’s need to rethink social media strategy for better results and reach.
    Thanks for sharing

  7. Pingback: Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid! | Web 2.0 technology | Scoop.it

  8. Pingback: Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid! | Urban Life | Scoop.it

  9. Pingback: Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid! | Social Media Management for Business | Scoop.it

  10. Pingback: Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid! | Skills4Growing | Scoop.it

  11. Pingback: Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid! » Glen Green Pro

  12. Pingback: Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid! » Glen Green Pro

  13. Pingback: Social Media – It’s Relationship, Stupid! | Mídias Sociais | Scoop.it

  14. Hi Robert,

    It’s been 3 hours (or more) of reading through many of your blog articles and I find it really refreshing. Most of what you talk about are relationship and how to nurture them.

    You don’t get phased by the new shinny things coming up. I’m running my own company, of wich I think about changing the main product sold and I’m also the general manager of the local Chamber of commerce. What I see up here is that relations are more useful than Twitter and Facebook is getting a little more action.

    I really do like the way you write your articles and I will keep up with your blog, and give a try to you bundlepost software.

    Pascal

  15. It’s all those little things that we would never fail to do in a “real” relationship, right? Saying please and thank you. Learning someone’s name, the name of their spouse, the names of their children. Following up after they’ve been sick. Checking in after a vacation or long business trip. Answering when they pose a question.

    Those who get it remember that these social relationships are just as “real”, just as valuable as those that take place in the grocery line or at the Starbucks counter. I have great friends and connections in towns and states far, far away. And they are quite real and more than worthy of my time, my energy and my active consideration and participation.

  16. nice post…again. right in my wheelhouse of thinking. thanks for the perspective.

  17. Pingback: Random Topic Writing Challenge – Social Media | Jottings and Writings

Leave a Reply

