3 Effective Ways To Use @Klout Everyday

Though I am no fan of “the Klout score” and have written on this extensively. The fact that that self-described scientists and engineers are behind the social influence scoring system and NOT social media professionals, makes the score by default far less that accurate. Further, I am not sure that you can really measure one’s social influence down to a single score.

Having said that, I had originally stopped logging into Klout for sometime after their last score algorithm snafu, however I never did delete my account as many did. I waited a while for the dust to settle and went back in and began to develop some effective uses for their technology outside of my main score. Today I am going to share the three main ways I use Klout daily to improve my social media marketing, messaging, strategy and efficiency.

1) Follow backs on Twitter – Again, though I am not a fan or believer in the Klout score accuracy, I have found that when you get a ton of followers daily (I get between 100-200 new followers every day) it is one of the indicators we look at to determine whether we will follow back or not. Since we do actually look at every new followers bio (at a minimum), we often have to take it further by also reviewing their actual timeline and even Klout score to determine if we are going to follow back. Loosely using the overall score as a measurement of their engagement level, influence or spamming makes quick work of deeper investigation of a follower.

2) Measure content strategy effectiveness – I believe one of the best things about Klout is that it tracks the topics you are influential in. This can be incredibly useful to measure how well you are managing your messaging, conversations and content strategy. If your Klout tracked topics are not inline with your content strategy, messaging and company focus, you need to make some adjustments on your content and conversations to change that. Additionally, if you are not receiving +K from your target market on the proper topics, again you need to make some adjustments.

3) Give +K – One way to more deeply connect with your prospects, customers and influencers is to give them +K on Klout for topics that are important to them and their strategy. I have found this to be as helpful in furthering conversation and building relationships as Follow Friday on Twitter and Likes on Facebook. Remember that your social media marketing should not be about you, but helping and connecting with others.

Again, I am not a Klout fanboy by any stretch. I have simply found ways to use their technology, outside of their main score to make me more effective at social media marketing, relationship building, content strategy and efficiency with follow backs.

Rather than spending time modifying your activity in an attempt to get your Klout score higher than your friends, I highly suggest that you instill some strategy, discipline and good practices that result in return on your investment. Social media marketing is more than content, engagement and relationships. If it is business related, there must be a clear plan, goal and method to deliver value and extract measurable return on investment (ROI). ROI isn’t always or completely measured monetarily, but rather is often a compilation of many metrics that equate to results that are desired. Hopefully monetary measurement is a large factor you are taking into consideration, but not the only one.

Robert M. Caruso
@fondalo
Founder/CEO – Bundle Post

15 Comments

Filed under Facebook, Followers, Klout, Relationship, Social Media, Social Media Content, Social Media Marketing, Social Media ROI, Strategy, Twitter, Uncategorized

15 responses to “3 Effective Ways To Use @Klout Everyday

  1. Surprised to hear you say to give +K as a way to connect. I have not done this often (maybe have done it once) and not sure I see how it provides value when so many people have removed themselves from Klout to begin with. Love to learn more…

    • I would disagree that “So many” have removed themselves from Klout. I probably receive some 15-20 +k’s every single day from people. Another opportunity to converse and build relationship. Gives me an incredible pulse on my content and topics daily.

    • Hi Christina! I tend to agree. I left Klout a while ago too, but now (of course) Robert has me re-thinking this move. I believe Klout is total bunk but if I can use their system for my strategic benefit and build relationships doing so–I might have to change my stance on this. LOL

      Great post, Robert. As usual. ;)

  2. Interesting post about Klout. I need to get back and check again what should I do to increase my number. The number of new followers on Twitter is not as high as yours but slow but sure is higher and higher :)

    • I never worry about my Klout score and it is not effected by number of friends/followers really. I have written on this a lot. I do not believe the main Klout score is accurate or worthwhile. These other Klout components can be used effectively however in the ways I have described.

      Thanx so much for the comments Klaudia!

  3. Pingback: 3 Effective Ways To Use @Klout Everyday | bundlepost | DISCOVERING SOCIAL MEDIA | Scoop.it

  4. Robert

    Like you I place low credibility on Klout scores, especially because their algorithms are not transparent. Reputation is an asset and needs to be maintained, which means you need to understand what actions or statements have an affect on your reputation, so that you can prevent the negatives and polish the positives (though not to the point of gaming false reputation).

    Like you I use Klout to check on followers, to give +Ks and to interact, though not at the volume you experience. One thing of interest though is that Klout still keeps a data orphan (Klout score) for people who have left and deleted their account. So you can still check on their last known score (my assumption) though there is no further linking to that piece of data (hence the term orphan).

    I will tweet your post more than once, because I think it is important that others are aware of the need for responsible, manageable reputation or relevance analysis and that Klout has an obligation to evolve its product to better serve the community. The more we discuss its shortcomings and our requirements for improvement the more likely Klout may listen and respond to the requests and their social conscience. Ultimately their customers will benefit from increased accuracy and relevance.

    • Well put Colin. The only thing I really disagree with here is the transparency of their Algs. I do not think they should release such sensitive information. Why? As soon as they do, the SEO type gamers of social media will immediately begin modifying what they do in the social graph, solely for the purpose of gaming the system to increase their score. This would be the death of Klout for sure.

      My humble opinion…

      • Yes gaming is a problem, and part of Klout’s challenge is to monitor and detect gaming wherever possible. I would hope such due diligence is a vital part of their quality assurance program, and a feature that I would expect to be high on their customers’ core requirements. Certainly if I purchased information from Klout and found their data inaccurate because of gaming, I would drop Klout like a hot potato. It’s like discovering that the person you are about to hire with the stellar resume and sparking interview was lying through their teeth.

        Equally I would be concerned that Klout could be using the obscurity of their algorithms as an alternative to performing that due diligence, in other words if the public doesn’t know they can’t game, and Klout doesn’t need to check as much. I would never underestimate the hacker mentality on gaming a reputation system, as automated trial and error activities will eventually reveal the nature of those algorithms.

        Transparency will undoubtedly increase gaming, but it also stresses the need for a comprehensive quality assurance program that detects the abnormal behavior and iterative traffic generating positive reputation.
        As a member of Joe public I want my interactions accurately interpreted by reputation engines. I don’t have the time or inclination to game the system because in doing so I lose the one property that seems to be the most valuable on the social network – authenticity.

        Cool discussion – lets keep it going :)

      • That IS a challenge and one that is impossible to manage AND maintain accurate scoring. The bigger problem is that the Klout team is NOT made up of social media professionals, but engineers and scientists. Therefore they are incapable of developing scoring of something they do not understand very well. Furthermore, there are so many unique facets of this business that I am not convinced an accurate influence score is possible via an algorithm.

  5. There are many Klout haters, yet many companies still use your score to judge the level of your influence, regardless of whether or not it really measures influence. The other day I was allowed to be a Beta use for a new software, but a connection of mine did not because she had a lower score than I. The Klout score has become like the meaningless PMP certificate companies use to judge job applications for management positions. They all know the certificate means nothing in terms of management skills, but they still use it as a standard of evaluation. So, whether we like Klout or not, we have to pay attention to it and try to keep a high score.

    Thanks for the tips!

  6. Good points. Giving others a +K is a great way to use Klout every day. Especially if you’re like me and are about 3 years behind in doing so. :)

Leave a Reply

