How I Do Social Media – A Twist On Relationship Building

On March 13th we produced a new social graphic on our image blog that was called “How I Do Social Media, I Mean Coffee, I Mean…” Not only did the social media image get a ton of traffic (and continue to), but it created two things that were completely unexpected…

First, I was contacted by one my local friends and followers @PenToPaperCom here in the Portland Metro area. Leanne is an amazing writer and incredible mother and wife. Beyond that I call her a friend. We have shared coffee and many a meet up together and is the kind of people I like to hang out with. Why does this matter at all in my post? Trust me it does…

When Leanne contacted me, she asked for my address. She said she had to send me something. Being one that hates surprises, I tried to get to the bottom of it. Reluctantly, without information, I gave up the address. This is what arrived:

Isn’t that the coolest thing in the world? It had Biscotti, a Starbucks card and the coffee mug, let a lone a incredibly kind thank you note! If that isn’t some incredible relationship building, I am not sure what is. It takes social media content to an entirely new level! Worth the time and investment? Duh, yes…

So here’s where all this has now lead to. The Social Graphics Blog of daily funny social graphics has and continues to grow in popularity. We post 5 new hilarious, inspiring, coffee and other original social media related images every weekday. Since Leanne sent the coffee mug and I showed it to a few on our team, then a few others outside of the company, the idea of producing some coffee mugs and other swag with our graphics seems to be something that might just happen. They would be available for purchase at minimal costs and let the world know you are in social media.

This medium is one powerful, fast paced phenomenon that never ceases to amaze me. It continually reaches to new and unique heights, while creating some of the most amazing friendships and business relationships. Want to make an impression with someone? Take note of what Leanne did and don’t be afraid to be original in the social graph! I already loved her and her business talents. Now I don’t think there is anyway I would not help her more than I have already attempted.

What unique relationship building strategy have you used in your social media marketing efforts?

Robert M. Caruso
@fondalo
Founder/CEO – Bundle Post

17 Comments

Filed under Relationship, Social Media, Social Media Marketing, Strategy, Uncategorized

17 responses to “How I Do Social Media – A Twist On Relationship Building

  1. Pingback: How I Do Social Media – A Twist On Relationship Building | Social Media, Technology & Business Scoop | Scoop.it

  2. Very cool! I believe offline is so overlooked by social media marketers yet it that’s what seals the deal in a relationship. I manage some contests for a couple clients where I give away swag such as t shirts, coffee mugs, water bottles or bumper stickers to fans who share the page the most times etc. One Facebook fan said the Royals tix we gave to them would be the first time they would be going to a game. It was a tearjerker and made my client look golden to them.

  3. Reblogged this on Social Media, Copywriting, PR Advice From the Trenches and commented:
    This guy is a must follow if you’re on Twitter @bundlepost.

  4. Finally a way to allow us to really connect again. Social media seems to be the bridge to help us connect, yet remembering to be human and reaching out in love and appreciation and actually doing something besides sitting behind our technology are the steps to cross that bridge to connect heart to ehar and face to face. The way we did before technology. We were social, now a bit of technology has allowed us to bring some of that humanity back.

  5. I came up with the idea of these wrapped Macaron’s (french cakes) with a business card to make sure people at a recent national networking ‘tweet-up’ in Birr, Co. Offaly, Ireland got to hear about TalentpoolLtd.ie (who I do training for). Placed them beside the coffee and tea.
    Don’t be afraid to do something a little different to get your name and your business in front of people. Picture here: https://www.facebook.com/SociaMediaMatters

  6. The connections made through social media are priceless! This is awesome. Enjoy the coffee!

  7. I always tell people ‘Be human on Social Media, people buy from people’.

    I need a mug too Leanne. :)

  8. Oh, don’t get me started on how much I love social media and the awesome people (such as yourself) I have met! I love the originality of your friend! Give her a high-five for me.

  9. Kittie Walker

    I love it when people take social media to the next level. Enchanting people is an awesome way to go about relationship building and it translates very well to business.

    Reminds me of the incident that Ian Lurie posted about last December which is a fantastic read http://www.portent.com/blog/random/how-social-media-works.htm

  10. Pingback: Don’t try. Just do. | Writings and Ruminations

Leave a Reply

