3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up]

This week’s original blog post, 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human, got a lot of traction and seemed to hit home with a lot of folks. There was a ton of sharing, comments and appreciate for the insight. This is pretty common on a lot of my articles, but a few things were different and they really stood out to me. Though I don’t think I have ever done a follow up post, this one really warrants it.

This is what I found interesting…

WHO:

I tend to get a very diverse group of social media agencies, marketers and brands that read, share and engage with my content. That held true on this post as well, but I noticed that there was a much heavier response from social media agencies and strategists on this one. Though I was not surprised at this, the results I discovered somewhat shocked me.

WHAT:

Every single social media agency and consultant firm that shared, agreed and commented on my post, hailing it as very important, but weren’t even doing it themselves. Meaning, each one of them had a logo for a twitter pic, a corporate bio containing nothing human about them and most importantly they were all missing a person’s name. Really? Your not a multi-billion dollar per year, internationally known agency are you? Stop pretending to be…

Leading by example is something I hold true to. Am I perfect, no. But do I sincerely make a daily effort to do what I tell others to do? Absolutely! If you aren’t doing what you are agreeing with and telling your clients to do, well, I am not sure who you think you are kidding. Certainly not me and definitely not your clients that happen to view your account.

STANDOUT:

Out of the hundreds of agencies and consultant firms that shared and engaged on this post only ONE stood out. Like the others they were not doing what was in the post, though they shared it and commented on how important it was. But the team behind the agencies account took it further, by escalating it to the CEO via email and suggesting priority changes be made to the company brand within the social graph.

The social media team with this agency made such a fuss, I ended up getting this tweet from the CEO, along with a subsequent DM conversation and then a phone call. Impressive! They proceeded to make the changes and have already today (now yesterday afternoon) gotten back to me with feedback and clear result differences in certain metrics. You gotta love it!

More proof? Just as I had finished this post, this tweet came in from another twitter user, referencing MiaBellAgency‘s newly created avatar pic. No joke!

Here is the difference between their original brand account and after the changes. Major difference. Much more human and approachable.

Twitter Bio Before humanizing and After

Now if you are a social media agency reading this post, I can’t emphasize enough the importance of these things in your social media presence. You really need to walk the talk you present to your existing and perspective clients. If you are a small or medium sized brand or an individual social media marketer, the changes I discuss in the previous post alone will improve your results TODAY. I implore you to do it…

Robert M. Caruso
@fondalo
Founder/CEO – Bundle Post

14 Comments

Filed under Agency, Community, Relationship, Social Media, Social Media Marketing, Twitter, Uncategorized

14 responses to “3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up]

  1. I really like this post Robert. I tell my clients that you have to be a person on Social Media…people connect with people..They may follow brands…but they interact with people…and to me, that is the goal “Engaged Audience”
    …Thank you for all your assistance and for sharing your knowledge.

    • I agree for the most part. The goal is ROI, revenue, traffic or otherwise results. The method of achieving that goal is by building relationships – engagement :-)

  2. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up] | Social Customer Support | Scoop.it

  3. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human | bundlepost

  4. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up] | FLITTER - Studio for the Social Web | Scoop.it

  5. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up] | Web Ιnterrupted | Scoop.it

  6. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up] | #KESocial | Scoop.it

  7. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up] - #KESocial

  8. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up] | Managing options | Scoop.it

  9. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up] « tdfconsultants

  10. Pingback: 3 Ways A Social Media Brand Account Can Be More Human [Follow-up] | Social Media with Coffee | Scoop.it

  11. I could not agree more. Talking the talk AND walking the walk ~ Success :)

  12. Pingback: MDG Advertising Wins Regional Social Media Competition | socialmediamasters.ca

Leave a Reply

