It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 2

Sitting here this morning working on tomorrow’s blog post for this series and there are so many circumstances I have seen or experienced over the last two months that are flooding through my mind. Trying to organize them in the best way that will add value and examples that can help you is the challenge.

In part two I want to dissect the scenario I reference in the opening post of this series. The new trend on Facebook where people are Image Tagging others. Let me be clear about what I am referring to here. I am not talking about spammers tagging you in the pic of the Nike sneaker we have all experienced. I am not referring to friends tagging you in pics because something is funny or you were at their house. I am not talking about people you engage with all the time and have a relationship with tagging you in pics that are relevant. I am specifically talking about the new trend of certain “social media” marketing types tagging large groups of others they rarely engage with and have virtually no relationship with in order to hijack the other peoples influence on Klout and/or manufacture engagement that has the appearance of effective.

The very next day this entire situation occurred, the same very inexperienced social media marketer who was replicating another name person’s activity of tagging people in images, posted a request for people to give them +K in social media strategy on Klout. Still frustrated, I commented on the Facebook status that maybe they should demonstrate the ability to develop and deploy one properly instead of asking people, and that tagging people in pics is not an effective strategy. They responded by just deleting my comment on the post and ignoring me. What’s more, the very NEXT day shared my part 1 of this series via Triberr, clearly showing they never read it.

Let’s start putting some actionable detail to things you can do to better ensure you are replicating behavior that will get you the results you need. Here are some questions to ask yourself if you are deploying a watch and learn method of social media marketing.

1) Is the person or brand whose activity you are replicating, actually driving the results, revenue and ROI that you need to make your social media marketing effective?

2) Is the person or brand whose activity you are replicating, have Klout scores and followers because they are truly effective the way you need to be or because they are a celebrity or excellent at driving blog traffic?

3) Is the person or brand whose activity you are replicating appropriate for the market you are targeting?

4) Is the person or brand whose activity you are replicating actually going to speak to my target audience, or is it really more effective at connecting me with my peers and/or competitors?

I am not looking to pick a fight with any social media people out there. My intent here is to get social media agencies and marketers that desire results to actually get them and more importantly the results that are inline with their needs and goals.

What are results? Well that depends on the goal and reason for your social media marketing. For some it is revenue and sales, customers or inquiries. For others it may be customer service or tech support. Whatever the goal, be sure that the articles you are reading and the people you are mirroring actually get the results that you are attempting to achieve, rather than just Klout scores and huge followings.

Honestly, Klout scores, topics of influence and large followings are easy to get. Actual results with in a social media marketing program is not! Please remember that…

In the next post I will get into some of the things to look for in people and behavior when learning social media and how to determine whether to listen to what and who you are reading.

Robert M. Caruso
@fondalo
Founder/CEO – Bundle Post

Want more?

Part 1

Part 3

18 Comments

Filed under Agency, Followers, Marketing, Social Media, Social Media Marketing, Social Media ROI, Strategy, Uncategorized

18 responses to “It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 2

  1. Hurriedly pats self down to make sure that Robert is not talking about me ;)

    You are totally right of course – the mind boggles – we’ve had this conversation time and again over the last few weeks and months.

    All four points are well made and point 4 is the most damaging to your business growth potential – it is great connecting with peers/competitors but they are not and never will be your target audience. If you try to build a business this way you are on a hiding to nothing.

    • u always make me laugh Kittie. No not you darlin!

      I feel so bad for newbies that get sent down the wrong path and really want to help them find the right people to lead them.

    • Hi Robert and Kittie! Great post and comment, you’ve got my ear.

      As a singer/songwriter I had an experience on Youtube that made it abundantly clear I needed to change my strategy. I was building a following of people who were essentially doing exactly what I was doing. A couple of hundred “subs” later I realized that I wasn’t going to do anything but break even building new relationships (for the purpose of marketing my music) with other singer/songwriters. I knew I had to dig in and find a different demographic to build a “fan” base of potential customers.

      What I found was that it wasn’t my music that was going to get people listening (everybody’s got music) but it was the message I put out in my lyrics and the relationships I build that will eventually attract the people who are going to benefit from what I have to offer.

      Now I am, daily, working toward locating individuals (primarily on Twitter) who resonate with my worldview and will see value in the songs I write and sing.

  2. Pingback: It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 2 | Social Media Article Sharing | Scoop.it

  3. Great work bro. I like this blogging series.

  4. Thank you Robert for interesting post.
    tagging is back. Similar ‘wave’ of image tagging was 2 yrs ago if I remember right. Maybe the reason was different but effect the same.
    I try to be nice (most of the time) but the moment when marketers are going wild with ‘easy ideas’ – that makes me a little bit uncomfortable ;)
    I’m a strong believer in long-term-good-strategy….so please lets stop overusing that ‘tagggggg’ feature.

  5. Pingback: It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 3 | BundlePost

  6. Pingback: It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 2 | #KESocial | Scoop.it

  7. Pingback: It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 2 | Community Managers Unite | Scoop.it

  8. Pingback: It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 2 | Latest Social Media News | Scoop.it

  9. Pingback: It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 4 | BundlePost

  10. Gregory

    These black hat marketing tools are to be avoided and this example clearly shows how Facebooks complacency is cause for lackluster stock valuation. Unlike Google who constantly updates its Algorithyms, Facebook seems to not take into account the clean use of tools to create a fun user experience.

    Not all marketers use these tool. Black hats are always going to be around if not monitored users lose interest in search, guest books, forums, blogging and now social media. It’s why Madison Avenue maintains print, TV and radio still are greater.

  11. Pingback: It's Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 2 … | socialmediamasters.ca

  12. Pingback: It’s Nearly Impossible To Become A Social Media Professional Part 1 | BundlePost

Leave a Reply

