The Day My Social Media Feeds Blew Up!

Something happened last week that I am still trying to absorb and make complete sense of. I am one busy guy in the social space and busy doesn’t really describe running a tech startup and directly managing my personal and business social presence myself. Add to it being a single dad of two and I think you are getting the idea of what my days look like. Complaining? Not one bit, just explaining the speed at which my 7 day per week social media activity looks like. I run hard…

For the first time in a very long time my social media feeds blew up, well exploded really. What do I mean by that? Simply that the number of mentions, comments, likes and activity vastly exceeded normal. It even exceeded my busiest social media day of the week, Friday. The only problem with this was that I had not planned for this to occur and therefore had way more appointments and calls scheduled then I should have given the volumes occurring in my feeds. I failed to project this, but I clearly should have known better.

What I am I talking about?

This week, Steam Feed launched their new site and I was honored to be one of the contributing authors. Steam Feed is attempting to fill the huge online gap left by too few sites dedicated to providing real content, by real professionals that is helpful for the average business person or marketer. Yes, I mean no fake experts, no speakers or book authors that have never really done it. I mean real business, social media, marketing and tech business people who actually do this in their own businesses everyday. Novel idea? Apparently it is.

Steam Feed launched live on September 18th. Though the company founders are not publicly disclosing statistics, the word is that every single projection made for the launch was exceeded. How often does that happen for an online startup? Ummmm never!

It was very clear to me that the market had a huge need that was not being met by real professionals, for real professionals. There are a ton of blogs that get huge traffic based on an individuals celebrity, not to mention the likes of Mashable, FastCompany and many others. But Steam Feed saw that there was a need in the market for trusted information on varying subjects that was written by real people. I can’t applaud this effort enough!

Based on the mentions, comments, likes and shares that my introductory article garnered on the new site, they are on to something. I am happy I am now be able to send people to a single source that delivers professional advice, perspective and guidance. I am honored to have been there at the beginning and be able to watch it grow into the next content powerhouse online. I suggest you check it out.

Way to go Steam Feed.

Robert M. Caruso
@fondalo
Founder/CEO – Bundle Post 

14 Comments

Filed under Marketing, Social Media, Social Media Content, Social Media Marketing, Uncategorized

14 responses to “The Day My Social Media Feeds Blew Up!

  1. Thanks for writing this up Robert! We really appreciate it! :)

    It’s crazy how SteamFeed has taken off, after not even a week of being live! We’re really enjoying the engagement going on from everyone :)

    Thanks again for your contribution, and hopefully there’s no hard feelings for invading your twitter feed ;)

    • Daniel,

      Anyone that would honestly complain about too many mentions, share’s and comments is a fool. It clearly shows the need for what you guys are doing. I am honored to be a part of it and believe it will help many people, as well as the industry long-term.

      Keep it up!

  2. Glad to hear the launch went so well, Robert and Daniel. I’m going to need to ensure SteamFeed is one of my own RSS feeds now.

  3. Well said Robert. I love the line about having one site to send people to. Even as a contributor to Streamfeed.com I am learning with every post I read. #SMrebels

  4. Robert you are the embodiment of what makes social media so great. Even though we’ve never met in real life you’ve always been tremendously supportive and helpful in any way you could. I’m proud to have you onboard this great project of ours and I look forward to the future of social media.

  5. nah…you don’t sound busy at all :) congrats on your success. information is not rare. but *trusted* info? the rarest. looking forward to reading the goods from the one and only @fondalo!

  6. That was a particularly crazy day! Great group of people. I’m enjoying the posts and learning something from each and every one of the writers. Long may it continue!

Leave a Reply

