Listen, Learn Or Lead – The Three L’s of Social Media

Based on the title of this post, you might be expecting to get some juicy insight on managing social media more effectively or new hot tips from me on social media marketing. Sorry to disappoint you, but this post is not about that. It’s about you and your skill set.

Social media marketing is far less similar to rocket science or physics, and more closely related to art. Yes, there are procedures, steps and best practices as in science, but it’s really more of an art form. As with most art, there are many different mediums, forms and audience types that are considered. Regardless of the form of art, it does require knowledge, skill and experience in order to produce significant results.

I realize I am an odd bird in the social space. I say what I mean, I am not afraid to say what many others wish they could and I have no formalized training. What I do have is experience that uniquely qualified me to jump into the space. Many of you don’t know this, but I never went to the same school two years in a row growing up. Imagine how that impacts one’s personality, ability to quick make connections and build relationships? Trust me it does.

One of my biggest flaws is that I learn the hard way. I jump off the cliff, make horrid mistakes and struggle through. My biggest redeeming quality is that I learn extremely fast. Although I would not change anything given where I am and how our company is growing, I do wish I had connected with a mentor early on in my social media career.

Because we do not have any competitors, I spend a considerable amount of time mentoring, coaching and helping others in social. Yes, I do formal consulting also, but rarely as I charge a lot for this sort of thing. A lot of my free time (which at this point I have very little) is given to others in the form of mentoring and coaching about social media marketing. Something that is so badly needed in this space. The unfortunate thing is that I have so little time anymore to do this in a one on one setting.

We frequently here the term, “knowledge is power”. This is a phrase I highly disagree with. You see, I believe that you must have the proper knowledge, that is a given, but what you do with that knowledge is where the power comes from. Or as I have said many times “Knowledge isn’t power. Using what you’ve learned IS… #quote @fondalo

So the title of this blog post – Listen, Learn Or Lead is about choices. You can read and watch. You can try to lead, or you can learn and listen, then lead. I am not talking social media monitoring or analytics here, I am referring to obtaining the knowledge, skill and experience you need to actually be successful in your social media efforts.

In an attempt to help as many as possible, we have decided to do something I have never done before. Today we are launching fondalo.com. The site provides over 12 hours of video training designed specifically for social media marketers AND social media agencies. My small contribution to educating people on the deep aspects of social media marketing that goes well beyond general blog posts and books by authors who have never really done it. We also drill deep for social media agencies, providing all of the lessons we learned when we were an agency, what to do, how to do it and most importantly, what NOT to do.

I wanted a site where I can help as many people as possible. A place where you not only get the information and training you need, but where you can ask specific questions and get the answers, as well as learn from questions others have asked. So enough about our new site, here are the points you should take away today.

Listen: Get a mentor or find trusted training sources from someone who has actually done this and achieved real results.

Learn: Social media moves at lightening speed. You can no longer waste time making mistakes that take time. Your competition is already ahead of you. Learn it right and do it right.

Lead: Once you have learned and have the knowledge, turn that into power by leading. Lead your team, your industry, your competition and thought in your space. Leadership is derived from knowledge, but also experience and real results that come from both.

Wherever or however you get the knowledge, skill and experience you need to be effective in your social media marketing strategy, be sure that the source of that information is appropriate. Be sure it comes from someone who has actually done it. But for the love of Pete, get what you need and do it now! :-)

Robert M. Caruso
@fondalo
Founder/CEO – Bundle Post

7 Comments

Filed under Agency, Marketing, Relationship, Social Media, Social Media Marketing, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Listen, Learn Or Lead – The Three L’s of Social Media

  1. Pingback: Listen, Learn Or Lead – The Three L’s of Social Media | Social Networks Today | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: Listen, Learn Or Lead – The Three L’s of Social Media | Social Media For U | Scoop.it

  3. Pingback: Listen, Learn Or Lead – The Three L’s of Social Media | Anand's Social Media News | Scoop.it

  4. Annie Cluck Sells

    Robert:
    Sometimes I think we are cut from the same fabric. Please take a moment to check out my most recent column post http://www.examiner.com/article/social-media-shock. I would love to have your feedback. Congrats on the new site. I cannot wait to check out your material and share it!
    Regards,
    Annie

  5. Robert, our greatest leaders had a third grade education or never finished school. It is said the most wealthy are dreamers. So you are way ahead. No wonder I feel so akin to you. :-) Great post. Thanks for your contributions. L3

  6. I think one of the things that makes your blogs so refreshing is that they’re so candidly from the heart. I will never forget the time you spent with me on the phone providing mentorship and encouragement. For now I’ve been playing it forward and I thank you for all that you’re doing to keep our professional value above reproach.

Leave a Reply

