Some Of The Most Effective Social Media Is Humorous

I want you to stop what you are doing and think for a moment… Are you having any fun with your social media marketing? Have you noticed that most of the social media content from blogs, YouTube, Facebook and the like that really goes viral, always has a humorous element? Remember the Old Spice Guy? I have found there is no better way to break the ice and build relationships within the social graph, than comedy.

Ever since the big Newsfeed changes occurred on Facebook, the increase in photo sharing has been huge. There has been a lot of comedy and motivation pics that are quickly going viral. It seemed to me that every time I hit my feed on Facebook, there were two things poping up. 1) Hilarious pics/videos 2) Motivational sayings neatly arranged on numerous photos of people holding up signs.

The funny pics and videos are being shared more than I had noticed previous to the newsfeed changes and it got me thinking. I know that NOTHING shares better than comedy and it’s been a while since I created something myself that does that. Don’t get me wrong, those of you that follow me on Twitter and connect on Facebook know humor is just part of who I am, but I wanted something new, fresh and that made a point.

Here is what I did last night at 10:30 pm. (BTW – it is starting to go viral)

You don’t have to be a creative genius or graphic designer. Just be aware of the effective use of humor in your social media marketing efforts and build better relationships by breaking down some barriers.

Robert M. Caruso
@fondalo
Founder/CEO – Bundle Post

18 Comments

Filed under Social content management, Social Media, Social Media Content, Social Media Marketing, Twitter, Uncategorized

18 responses to “Some Of The Most Effective Social Media Is Humorous

  1. Pingback: Some Of The Most Effective Social Media Is Humorous | bundlepost « Be Happy Stay Happy

  2. Great perspective! People relate to comedy. It makes you and your company approachable. It does break down barriers. Marketing pertains to the five senses. Sight and sound are easy to create on social media. Taste and smell are a challenge to technology, but you can make people feel happy. Go ahead — entertain me.

  3. As always, it’s always about relationships. All the traction starts there. If you can connect, including the connection to a laugh, magic happens. Great post. Thanks!

  4. YES, it’s always about relationships. Traction starts there. When you connect, including a connection to a laugh, magic happens. Great examples and encouragement.

  5. I couldn’t agree more, comedy is the perfect way to break the ice and establish a fun perspective to your customer base. Great blog!

  6. Once upon a time, the great Dave Peck tweeted that somebody seemed to have broken the Internet. I replied that it was probably me, as I’d been break-dancing earlier. And what do you know, the social giant was so amused he RTed my comment, and a slew of follower pickups, well, followed. If content is king, then humor is the jester keeping his court merry.

  7. Funny is overrated. I’m not a fan of humor.

  8. Pingback: Some Of The Most Effective Social Media Is Humorous | Social Media = Customer Engagement | Scoop.it

  9. Pingback: Some Of The Most Effective Social Media Is Humorous | Effective Social Media Marketing | Scoop.it

  10. Pingback: Some Of The Most Effective Social Media Is Humorous | Enterprise Social Media | Scoop.it

  11. I am definitely a fan of the humorous approach. Haven’t held up the sign yet, though. Like the saying goes, “oh sure, it is funny until somebody gets hurt…then it is absolutely hilarious”. OK, maybe that is the wrong context for social media, don’t go hurting people with sarcasm, etc ;)

  12. Pingback: Some Of The Most Effective Social Media Is Humorous | Just Story It | Scoop.it

  13. Pingback: Humor is Social Media King | Verführend Verkaufen - Erfolg & Rhetorik 2.0 | Scoop.it

  14. Pingback: Some Of The Most Effective Social Media Is Humorous | organizationalstorytelling | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

