5 Important Ways To Optimize Your Twitter Profile For Improved Results

Do you realize the importance of your Twitter bio? It can literally make or break your effectiveness on Twitter. There are several things I consult on regarding Twitter profiles and today I am going to share them with you. Whether you agree or not, understand that what I am sharing I have proven over a long period of time. Your social media marketing can depend on having this tightened up.

Number one and two I am most passionate about. The rest are things I teach and believe, and still quite important. The more of these you commit to doing, the more effective your profile will be within your social media management results.

1) Profile Picture – One thing I have learned is that people build relationships with people, not logos. I can’t have a relationship with your company OR your logo. I can have a relationship with YOU, or a person from your company. Use your photo and include your logo in the graphic if you like. Just be aware that whether consciously or not, people will engage and be much more open to a relationship if you are you, not simply a company.

2) Account Name – Equally as important to number one is account name. Go ahead and use your twitter name as your brands name, but make sure there is a human name in the name field. People can’t really have a relationship with a brand or a company name. They can and will with a human from that company.

When someone retweets a post of mine, I want to thank them as an individual. I want to call them by name and show sincerity. When your name is your company name, I have to call you ABC Company. See the point? People talk to humans, not logo’s or companies. Heck even when you call Home Depot, you get to talk to a human that answers the phone, not their brand or logo. More importantly, it’s likely your company is nothing close to the size or recognition of a brand like Home Depot. Just be you…

3) Location – The location field of your bio is frequently not made important by many Twitter account holders, yet it is very important to those viewing your account. Leaving this blank or using latitude and longitude settings aren’t helpful. You are missing opportunities to be found by your target market, as well as opportunities for conversations with your audience. Be specific, yet broad enough to be inviting to your audience. Example – Mine is: Oregon, PDX, Portland, USA.

4) Bio – Another highly important field is your Bio. Be sure to give some information about YOU, as well as your company and what you do. Displaying yourself as human makes you approachable and real. Topics of interest and the details that make you unique help others feel like they know you better, resulting in more topics to engage on. Note things about you in your bio that invite conversations. Conversations lead to relationships. Relationships lead to business and ROI.

5) Website – Every single one of us has either a website, Youtube channel, a video, blog, Facebook account, social portal, etc. If you don’t… get one. Give your target market the ability to find out more about you and/or connect with you in other ways. I am amazed at how many people/companies leave this blank. A big fail!

Optimizing your Twitter profile is just as important as engaging with your target market. Don’t underestimate that social media is about relationships and humans are attracted to having that with other humans, not some brand or logo.

45 Comments

Filed under Social Media, Social Media Management, Social Media Marketing, Social Media ROI, Twitter

45 responses to “5 Important Ways To Optimize Your Twitter Profile For Improved Results

  1. Easy stuff that goes a long way. Twitter isn’t a space where less is more, but rather more is more. As always, thanks for sharing!

  2. Good thoughts here. Enjoyed reading. Another thing I am looking into is putting information on my theme as well.

  3. Callum

    Great stuff Robert, as always. I’d also say that although many Twitter users never look at your actual ‘page’, having a personalised background can also be a fall-back option where other online sites etc. can be displayed for users to see. Like I said, most people won’t see this, but if one customer does, then hey, it’s worth it.

  4. Thanks a lot for these suggestions! Definitely considering making some changes now :)

  5. Robert,
    I typically agree with you, and I do so again here on MOST of the points. The one I do disagree with you on is number 2. If an organization is more than a one or two person show, this needs to be kept as the business tweeting, not a person. People come and go from businesses. For example, there’s no way my name should be used, or my picture, for the nonprofit I work for. The Twitter handle was here long before me, and will likely be here long after I leave. If I do my job well enough, people will connect with the organization, even if there isn’t a name or face attached to it. It’s not as good as connecting with a person, but it makes more sense for a business of more than just a mom-and-pop variety.

    Now where I do think a person’s name can be sued in an organization’s Twitter account is in the bio (such as “Tweets by @yourname”). That allows people to know who they’re conversing with, build a somewhat personal connection to your business, but allow for a somewhat easy change if staff changes happen.

    Go ahead, disagree with me. I dare you! :)

    • Yep, I do disagree. Unless the brand is Starbucks, Pepsi or something like that. As I tell clients, I don’t care what or who’s name is on the account, but there needs to be a person or persons people can build a relationship with. People may connect with an organization, but they can’t have a relationship with one. That requires humans.

      I don’t look for a name in the bio. I look for a name in the name field. Call me crazy… If you are going to make it difficult for someone to have a relationship with your brand or require people to hunt to figure out the human they converse with, it’s already game over…

      We agree to disagree. My disagreement is vehement on this one.

      Thanx for your feedback Pat!

      • yep, Robert, and i also tell my clients, in fact, at a meeting today, that people don’t do business with a business logo, they do business with real people. We know that life online needs to mirror life off line. Basic principles apply. Courtesy, professionalism, calling people by their name. Oh – and making it easy for people to do business with you, and your team, removes unnecessary obstacles. :-)

  6. I agree with all your points, I much prefer to see a photo of an actual person than a logo (or an egg!). I also hate those people who think they’re funny and have their location as “On the internet” or something equally unhelpful.

    One thing I would add is you should find room in your bio to squeeze in a link. If you click to see a list of followers you can then see the link straight away, rather than then having to click again to bring up their profile. I did this a while ago and it’s certainly increased visitors to my website (I also have a separate customised landing page for visitors from twitter so I can monitor click rates).

    • There is a handy dandy website field for that. As I mention in the post, that is also an important piece. Don’t know why, but found your comment in the spam section. Appreciate the comment hun!

      • Ah, but if you only add it to the website field it doesn’t show up as easily. Log into twitter then click to see who’s following you, it brings up the list and shows bios but not the website field – you only see the website field if you view someone’s profile.

      • yes, that is if you use twitter directly. However, since we know that between 75-85% of all twitter activity is not even done on twitter itself, but instead using third party applications this is highly unnecessary. Furthermore, since social media is not about YOU, but rather the people who are following you, doing such repetition can give the wrong impression. Finally, since many active and effective social media marketers understand the importance of the relationship factor, we actually do frequently open a users bio to make sure we do in fact understand who they are in detail.

        I appreciate your input and desire to have your website easily accessible, but be careful not to raise red flags with your audience.

  7. Simple things that so many miss! Always great to remind people to dot the i’s and cross the t’s.

  8. Pingback: How to maximise visitors to your website using twitter | | Bridie's Typing ServicesBridie's Typing Services

  9. I completely agree with #1 & 2. I have often not followed someone because of the picture or lack thereof and because the name left something to be desired.

    I’ve been reworking my bio, but am still a little reluctant about giving my location. Do I have a valid concern?

    Thanks for the insightful post!

    • If you are going to give your home or office address, yes you have a concern. If you are geographically targeted business marketing, then it is very important. I rarely follow back folks that are not in my target geolocation OR leave it blank.

    • Hey Tisa, I don’t think you need to be concerned, you don’t have to go into detail. I simply state the area I live (I work from home and don’t like the idea of advertising my address either!). Even if you just give the state you live in, it’s better than nothing or the dreaded “on the internet” (soooo not funny people!).

  10. Great to have you Triberrin’ with us,Robert – where, believe it or not, as social media savvy as the majority of us are, a few members still use a logo for their Twitter profile picture – to our dismay.
    I look at my own, I test the links that the Hootsuite mini profile scrapes the web for and provides, and think I’m doing okay. About that, at least!

    • It’s my pleasure man. Aaron has been on me for some time to get on their. Not sure I get it at all and can’t promise I will have the time to be all that active, but I am at least there now. Hopefully I can provide some value to everyone.

  11. Great post! Definitely adding this post to the Buffer and Scoop.it :)

    I love your style of writing. Sentences like “If you don’t… get one.” are just awesome.

    Question: why don’t you use a commenting plugin like Disqus, Livefyre, or CommentLuv?

  12. Pingback: 5 Important Ways To Optimize Your Twitter Profile For Improved Results | @phillipdodd - Twitter Marketing Resources | Scoop.it

  13. Great post! I agree completely!

    I provide my location and a link which directs my followers to a customized Welcome Twitter page on my website this way I (hopefully) am directing new traffic to my business.

    My bio is pretty simple yet says a lot about who I am. (I have to admit I use this on most of my SM sites as my bio)

    I make it a habit to not follow people who follow me unless their bio is complete as I like to know a little something about who I’m connecting with!

    One question I have is; what are your thoughts on having a separate business profile as well as personal?

    Thanks again,

    • All great points Vickie!

      Great question… If I had it to do all over again, I would have had ONE twitter account. A lot less work!

      Robert.

      • Thank you Robert, I have had several RE Friends tell me I should set up a twitter account for my business. My reason for not doing so is primarily because I believe people like the personal touch of one-one interaction with me as a person.

      • You should be doing that regardless of a personal or business account. My view is just it’s so much easier doing it with ONE. Don’t listen to them. You are doing just fine Vickie!

        Robert

  14. Enjoyed the post, thanks. I somewhat agree with Pat though in the sense that Twitter is not as personal as it used to be. In the next two weeks it is rolling out a more business friendly update and that seems to be the way the bandwagon is heading, not back to the “if I don’t see a face or name I won’t follow” idea it once started with. Nice in theory but employees come and go in business but the logo/branding stays the same.

  15. Twitter accounts are just normally setup and used without these techniques. Just realized it is important to do these. Thank you for the advices. By the way, how long have you been using these techniques and how did it changed your marketing output?

  16. Pingback: Practice What You Preach « talkabout social media

  17. I pretty much will not engage a person on Twitter if I don’t know their name. So, if we are here to build relationships, a person’s name on the profile is a prerequisite, IMHO.

  18. Pingback: Are you making these social media mistakes? « talkabout social media

  19. Pingback: Are you making these 8 social media mistakes? | Social Media Made Simple

  20. Simple and great tips. Rock on.

  21. Pingback: How To Grow Targeted Followers On Twitter? | BundlePost

  22. Pingback: How To Grow Targeted Followers On Twitter?

  23. Enjoyed reading your article. I look forward to an update now that Twitter has improved :)

Leave a Reply

