Social Media – Your Time Percentage Should Equate To Result Percentage

Ask yourself a few questions:

Where are you spending your time in the social graph?

What social networks get what percentage of your time and effort?

What network do your target audience spend most of their time on?

Which social network has the highest quantity and concentration of your target audience?

If you can’t answer these questions, you’re probably not being as effective with your social media marketing as you could or should be.

When a marketer or agency that is newer to social media asks me questions like, should we be on Pinterest, or should we have a brand page on Google Plus, I know right away they have a problem. You need to know where your audience spends most of their time when on social media and more importantly which social network gets the best results for your effort and time spent.

Once you know these answers, be sure your time and effort reflects the numbers. In other words, spend time on the social networks that get you the best and most results. Spend less time on the social networks that get the least or slowest results.

You’d think this would be common sense, right? Unfortunately it isn’t. I can’t tell you how many times a social media professional or marketer tells me about one of the newer or really niche social networks they love and that they spend most of their time on. My only question to them is this. How much revenue have you driven on that social network, rather than the main networks that have the highest concentration of your target market?  Sadly, one of two things usually happens:

1) They disappear and end the conversation. (BTW – this happened yesterday with someone I know personally when discussing their blog and the traffic they drive because they write about the newest shiny things and how traffic is so important. Once I asked them about revenue, poof!) Is it really that hard to understand? If you’re spending a ton of time doing something for your business it needs to get returns. Ignorance is only bliss if you won the lottery. In business you can’t ignore the obvious.

2) They justify and make excuses. Ya, but I really like it. Well, I am here to have fun too. It’s not about making money for me. These are the other responses I hear. Really?  You’re a social media marketing consultant, agency, marketer or ninja and it’s not about making money? Please stop consulting or teaching social media to anyone else!!!

Example?

Our revenues and new Bundle Post users come as a result of the following:

50% Twitter – 40% Facebook – 10% Linkedin/G+/Etc.

We spend our time and efforts in exactly these percentages, on these platforms.

For those of you that have read my stuff for a while, you know that my only goal is to help you get real results from your social media marketing. I write only about what I do that gets results, not theory or hype about the industry, new shiny distractions, etc. Don’t take any of this personally, just use it to be better.

I leave you with a mission:

Know the numbers, where your audience is and start getting real about what you are doing and where. Putting your head in the sand isn’t going to help get you results and ROI.

10 Comments

Filed under Agency, Facebook, Google Plus, Marketing, Results, Social Media, Social Media Marketing, Social Media ROI, Strategy

10 responses to “Social Media – Your Time Percentage Should Equate To Result Percentage

  1. Once again Robert, Nail meet Head! Most companies think social media is easy and it can be done with no time, resource or financial investment. They also think it is a stand alone sales tool instead of integrating the platforms they use into to their overall sales process. Great article and I think you should change your Twitter name to “GodFather”

  2. Very nicely written article, Robert – and with some points that aren’t rehashed and tired. Love your fresh approach on things. It’s easy to get wrapped up in wanting short-term results from social media, but it is a process that needs to be refined and measured.

    – Jen, Social Media Manager

    • Thank you Jen. I tell people that social media is a marathon, not a sprint and being very conscious with intent in everything you do makes you either a winner or a participant. :-)

  3. So, this article has been tabbed on my computer and I finally read it! It wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be.

    However, to the point about whether or not a business owner thinks a social media account is “fun” or not; I tell them in my lectures if they don’t enjoy it in some way or see the overall value, they won’t do it at all so it will then be completely useless. If a business owner truly doesn’t “get Twitter,” then spend the extra time doing well on Facebook, you know?

    I actually closed my Pinterest account. (right?!?! and I’m female?!?!) I don’t have time to be on there. My brand isn’t crafty or visual. I call myself the anti-craft. hehe. Point being, you are absolutely correct about there being value amongst specific social networks for businesses.

  4. Pingback: 3 Links (#7): Blog Posts Worth Checking Out | RGB Social

  5. Pingback: 12 #StarWars Quotes and Blog Posts on Social Media Marketing by @PerfectJulia | BundlePost

Leave a Reply

